My daughter and her boyfriend announced yesterday that they will be getting married in December. On one hand I am glad for them, on the other, well, not so much.

Strangely enough I think the Lord had been preparing my wife and I for this situation. My wife has reported, over the past two weeks, several dreams wherein my daughter comes home from work and announces that she is finally moving out. Nothing about marriage, but my wife told me that she felt the two were getting close to eventually tying the knot. At the same time I have been feeling the need to talk to her boyfriend about his current status with the Catholic church and whether or not he is still and active member. I made it clear, years ago, that I wouldn’t accept my daughter marrying someone not of the Christian faith, and I intend to stick by that.

As you can see this presents a number of issues for myself, seeing as how my wife is not often on my side when it comes to matters of scripture. The “not being equally yoked to a non-believer” being the first of many issues I feel the need to talk to my daughter and her now fiancé about. I have said here on this blog, in the past, that I feel I raised my daughter with a lot of wrong information about her role in the world, and unfortunately I have been fighting an uphill battle to make her understand what scripture says about the role of a woman and the role of a married woman. My wife has been staunchly set against me in this, repeating that the things I tell her are “not what she believes about the bible”, and firmly convinced that the truths I tell her are twisted to a mans advantage. As many of my readers know, by virtue of your own journey’s through scriptural truth, this is a falsehood spread by many modern Western churches: That men have twisted the meaning and understanding of scripture to benefit themselves and to oppress women. The modern practice of “making things right” involves lifting women to holiness equal to that of Jesus himself, and anything less is seen as “unbiblical”.

My soon to be son-in-law is a nice guy, strong work ethic and, though kind of lackadaisical in masculinity he does have drive, having spent a summer in Alaska helping harvest salmon as well as going to school for mechanics. He hails from Mexico, having been brought into the U.S. illegally by his parents when he was young, but getting the right paperwork to stay in the states legally. He has been working on getting his citizenship, even talking to a recruiter about joining the military, but has been stymied over the whole DACA row. I don’t suspect he is marrying my daughter for citizenship, as they have been dating for around 3-4 years now. His mother and father are divorced, with his father continuing to live down in Mexico. He was raised by his mother and stepfather, who didn’t like him much. He doesn’t have much training in being a masculine man and it shows. He has a bit of natural alpha in him, but it crumbles when his mom gets onto him about things and sometimes even when my daughter does the same thing. I have gotten onto her before about her behavior, and now I know I have to speak even more.

I ask for your prayers in the upcoming battles. I must speak to my daughter about what is expected of her as a Christian wife, and where her mother and I have gone wrong in teaching her. My wife will fight against me, most assuredly.

At the same time I must speak to the boy about what is expected of him as a husband, especially if he has made the decision to accept Christ! I have no doubt he has been taught the whole “co-captains”, new-age, feminist garbage I learned growing up, and no doubt its worse now than it was then.

This is what I must do. I will be accountable for it, whether I do or not. Until I allow her to be married she is under my authority. In a time when such a statement is seen as ludicrous and archaic the words of the bible still hold true. If I fail to do what is expected of me then I fail in my duty to be obedient to the word, and I cannot let that happen. I love my daughter and like her fiancé, I owe it to them to let them know what they are in for, and how to avoid the pitfalls so prevalent in our “modern and enlightened society” of 50% marriage failure rates.