Hey, Snapper, what’s up with you?

It’s been a while since I last posted anything of interest, and some of you out there may be wondering “Hey, Snapper, what’s up with you?”. Rest assured, everyone, I am still alive and kickin’, but have been so busy with various things lately I haven’t had time to post anything that required much thought.

Last week I travelled to Oklahoma to pick up my wife, who had been back there visiting her mother for the past six weeks. She had gone back not only to visit but to help her mom through the difficulty of a biopsy to determine if her cancer had returned. It hasn’t (thank you, Jesus), but her mom has plenty of other medical issues that make a helping hand of much use. Originally she was only supposed to be gone four weeks, but we added two extra weeks so my son could get out of school and travel with me and visit his grandparents. It was an interesting trip there, being just myself and my son, and we got to spend some father/son time together listening to metal and classic rock, enjoying some burgers on the road and dealing with wacky people in different states. The trip back was equally as interesting once my wife and MIL joined us.

A few pics from the road:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Recently I saw a few pretty good movies. I don’t often go to the movie theater until movies get to our local ‘dollar theater’. I just don’t feel the urgent need to see the latest movies with the exception of very few. That being said I am often behind the curve with regards to entertainment, but that doesn’t bother me. Recently I saw:

Logan (2017)
A solid and entertaining film, much more violent that your standard X-men movie. This movie actually hit kind of hard for me when I started considering that Hugh Jackman, playing a “Wolverine” who is growing old and weak, started playing the part almost two decades ago….and I remember when the original X-men came out! The film was a bit of a stark reminder for me of my own mortality and age. Too deep? Probably, given the film, but it happened nonetheless.

Cars 3 (2017)
Pixar movies are some of my favorite, and I did pay full price to go see this one. Entertaining as always the third movie in the franchise documents the beloved Lightning McQueen’s aging and impending feelings of irrelevance, much like Logan (though without adamantium claws freeing heads from bodies). It was a fun and funny film, but some might see it as another “girl power” movie by its end, and I can understand if they do. Unfortunately good ol’ Mater’ takes a bit of a back seat in this one, getting somewhat minimal screen time, but the humor is compensated by a few of the other cars.

Split (2017)
By itself the film was actually pretty good. I know M. Night Shyamalan has gotten a bad rap over the past few years, and this movie hasn’t gotten great reviews, but I liked it. The story centers around three teenage girls who are kidnapped by a guy with multiple personality disorder but, in typical Shymalan fashion, all is not what it completely seems. Naturally fans of his previous movies will get much more out of this than those who aren’t, but if you have watched his previous films then go into this one blind. Don’t read anything about it, just watch it, you will be much happier.


I got my Collectors Edition of Final Fantasy 14: Stormblood and I am so excited! It was the last ‘major’ thing I had purchased before I have go into financial lockdown over my medical bills and its worth the money for a fanatic such as myself. I’ve added it to my work shelf and it came with the deluxe packaging, a hard cover art book, a cloth map of game world, a re-useable sticker and a rather large and imposing statue of one of the games bosses (pictured below).

WP_20170622_07_10_47_Pro

In game I made a bee line straight to the Red Mage job and I have to say I am not disappointed. Its a fast playing and somewhat erratic job class to play, but its fun AAAAND, I have my Red Mage back!

ffxiv_06242017_221004

For now I have thrown together some different gear to give myself that ‘red mage’ feel, but I can’t wait to get the ‘official’ red mage relic gear which includes the signature feathered hat and rapier. Also pictured is my sons Dark Knight, but I guess he’s camera shy.


Temps have been so high lately around SoCal that I haven’t been able to get into the garage and work on any wood related items. When its 112 outside the garage is probably 120, so just, no. Hopefully we will get a cool down around here soon that will allow me to go and finish the Cronus sword for the nice Canadian girl who ordered it, as well as let me finish my testing on some other ideas I have.


That’s about it for now. This post is actually a week behind when I actually wanted to post it, so some of the info may be slightly out of date.

I have a few new posts I am thinking of making with regards to some of my OLDER posts, so if your interested look out for those later in the week. Thanks for stopping by!

Author: SnapperTrx

Just a guy on the internet.

4 thoughts on “Hey, Snapper, what’s up with you?”

  1. love the pictures 🙂

    i’m guessing your son will remember that trip out for the rest of his life. dedicated time alone with his dad – priceless.

Leave a Reply

