Hammer and nail

There is an old saying that goes like this:

“When the only tool you have is a hammer, every problem begins to look like a nail.”

Well recently I learned that this can be modified a bit for the modern day:

“When you see everything female as being feminist, everything female becomes feminist”

Last week Dalrock featured a post in which he referenced the newest trailer to the Transformers film franchise. It was abhorrent, feminist trash (like, seriously) and in his post he also refers to the movie Logan and it’s female protagonist.

The next section may contain slight spoilers. I haven’t seen the film, but I am familiar enough with some of the players to speak on them, though you may not want to read anything about it if you haven’t seen the movie.

From what I understand Logan includes the character X-23, a mutant girl who was created using Wolverine’s DNA. Because of this she is a bit of a ‘feral’ child who just happens to have greatly increased strength, agility and dexterity, along with some wicked sharp adamantium claws, just like her daddy.

Her Wikipedia page says she was originally created for the X-Men cartoon series on television and, though she is definitely a Wolverine archetype, it was never the intent for her to replace him. Eventually she got her own comic book series and became her own thing. I had never really heard of her until I started playing Marvel vs. Capcom 3, in which she is a selectable character.

Anyhow, Dalrock had made used both the girl in the Transformers preview and X-23 from the Logan film as examples of the “kick-ass girl” trope that film-makers and feminists love to rail on and on about, and for the most part I had agreed with him. However, I did make a comment about the differences between the two, namely that X-23 is a fictional character who’s story includes the fact that she is a mutant clone of one of the strongest, fastest and meanest characters in the Marvel universe. Despite her young age and small size, it would not be surprising to see her leaping about like a mad monkey, successfully attacking and killing full grown men two or three times her size. I find THAT more believable than your average, every-day young girl armed only with an attitude taking down two story tall robots from another planet.

Unfortunately someone else in the comments insisted on insisting that my defense of the character somehow made me one of the masses of beta men who wasn’t red pill enough to separate myself from the feminist push of super cool, roundhouse kick women that don’t exist. As if any man who could see the differences between one character and another, and not just blanket them all with ‘feminism’ was too weak to get out of the matrix.

I mean, forget the fact that its fiction to begin with, and that a woman attacking and successfully besting a man is far more believable than a 40 foot tall robot that turns into a diesel truck riding the back of a robot dinosaur while wielding a sword, right? I mean, forget the fact that we are talking about the world of comic books, where far, FAR stranger things have happened – it’s ALL feminism.

Look, I know what’s going on here. I see the feminist push and it annoys the crap out of me. In fact, right now I am watching Iron Fist on Netflix and the female, chop-socky, I-can-destroy-men-three-times-my-size character is by far the worst part of the show. I mean, she doesn’t have any abilities, she isn’t specially trained, she isn’t a cyborg or chemically enhanced, she’s just a 110 lb. Asian woman who just so happens to be able to put a man built like a weightlifter into an arm lock! C’mon! I can only suspend belief so far! He probably lifts two of her every day at the gym! Now, if it is revealed later that she DOES have abilities or specialized training, beyond simply owning a karate dojo, then that might make it a bit more palatable, but at the moment they just make her out to be a woman with an attitude, and that attitude is apparently all she needs.

Anyone who has visited this blog more than a couple of times is likely familiar with my own Sonja characters who, in my own story, destroy ARMIES on their own. Its called fantasy for a reason. Its based IN reality, but not ON reality. Things like mass and gravity still exist, but the fantasy world is full of things that don’t exist, and full of events and characters that could NEVER exist in our reality. I didn’t make up two super soldier women to make a feminist statement, I did it to include a couple of hot chicks in my main storyline and to bring to fruition an idea that came into my head one day! And guess what – other people have done the same! No feminist statement involved!

sonja_iray_test
Sonjas Together

They say that when a man finds the knowledge of the red pill he goes through several stages, one of them being anger. Anger over finding the truth. Anger about obtaining the knowledge of how women really act (or don’t act). Anger at being told lies for years and years about how “just being yourself” would get you a good woman or how women love “nice guys with dad-bods” and will be faithful just because they took a vow. I don’t know if said commenter is going through this stage, but as someone who found the red pill very late in life, I can tell you that it is a stage you have to work your way through. Staying in that stage for too long or permanently will just leave you a bitter man and a woman hater. If you find yourself stuck in this stage, ask yourself what your goal is. Is it to hate on women for the rest of your life or to understand them and make yourself better? A man chained down by hate and anger cannot progress, he will remain chained to that spot until he learns to free himself.

Don’t be stuck there. Sometimes a fantasy is just that, a fantasy, and not a hidden message.

Author: SnapperTrx

Just a guy on the internet.

2 thoughts on “Hammer and nail”

  1. I read you. Thanks for pointing this out. I’ve recently realized myself going down that rabbit hole seeing the feminist in everything. Thing about that is, if you look hard enough to find something, you will find it, even if it’s mostly a self-inflicted, myopic version that exists only in one’s head.

    Good reality-check you have here.

    1. Thanks for the compliments and welcome to the blog! (if you haven’t been here before)

      I spent too many years angry about circumstances involving women and eventually I just had to give it up. Being angry at feminists is one thing, calling everything involving women that a man could be doing is just asking for insanity. Some people write stories for the stories, not to make a political point. Was X-23 created to take over Wolverine? Maybe. Sources say no, but she certainly hasn’t. I have a feeling she was just the product of someone asking, “What if we made a Wolverine clone and – get this, what if it was his DAUGHTER?” (insert ‘mind blow’ action here).

      While I believe feminism is rampant in our current culture, I have to think that even 20 years ago it wasn’t so pronounced that the people at Marvel intentionally made her to be feminist. Now if this happened anywhere in the past couple of years I could TOTALLY believe it, just not that far back.

Leave a Reply

