Final Fantasy Friday XV

Todays F3 is a simple, yet special one. Long ago, before downloading music was easy and pretty much the only way to get a hold of FF music was to order it from overseas I found a little album called Final Fantasy V Dear Friends. At that point America had never really seen nor played the original FF5, and this album contained arranged selections from it’s soundtrack. It is, to date, one of the most beautiful soundtracks in my collection, if only because of the use of the Sami language throughout its tracks. Last year I featured the song My Home, Sweet Home, which is sung in Sami. Now I present to you As I Feel, You Feel, another haunting and whispery track also sung in Sami. Adapted from the FF5 track Legend of the Deep Forest, I have included the lyrics with approximate translation.

Original Sami English translation
Gii boaðašii ja vuolgašii
Loktešii dán dovddu,
Deavdašii dan unna doaivvu
Eana mojoda
Nu jaskađit, nu leggadit
Leago dat roahkatvuohta,
Jos barggan dan
Dahje, jos in bargga maidige
Dolla boalddaša mu muođuid
Almmi ivdne ruoksadin
Ruoksadin ivdne almmi
Mun muittán savkkaldusaid,
Ivnnit leat mu mielas.
Dovdduid maid dovddan,
Dat leat go cáhci…
Gos dat bohte?
Gosa bahtaredje?
Mii lea duoddariigguin,
Mii lea mearas?
Dan hálidivččen diehtit
Muittašan,
Bissánan jurdagiidda,
Divttan biekka muitalit,
Muitalit earalagan eallimis
Gidde mu calbmii, lihkká oainnán čouvgga
Govčča mu belljiid, lihká gulan sániid
Doaivvu guoikánasat rávket eatnama,
Roahkatvuođas dolla čuovgá,
Ustitvuohta, ohcá eallima cázi
Nu allin gos biegga.
Who would come and go
Raise this emotion,
Fulfill this small wish
Earth smiles
So quietly, so warmly
Is it courage,
If I do it
Or, if I do nothing
Fire flushes my cheeks
The sky painted red
Painted the sky red
I remember the whispers,
The colors are in my mind
I feel emotions, too
They are like water
Where do they come from?
Where did they vanish?
What is on the fells,
What is in the sea?
I would like to know
I reminisce,
I stop to think,
I let the wind talk,
Talk about a different (kind of) life
Close my eyes, yet I see the light
Block my ears, yet I hear the words
Drops of hope awaken the earth,
In courage fire burns,
Friendship, searching the water of life
Man’s wisdom
As high as the wind.
Author: SnapperTrx

Just a guy on the internet.

Leave a Reply

