Country music is dead.

I’m not a huge fan of country music. Though I appreciate the classics (Johnny Cash, etc.) I cannot stand modern “country” and, after last nights CMA awards I can officially say that the last nail has been put in the coffin.

  • Modern country women look as ratchet as all get out. Not a single woman that stood up there of the modern category held a candle to the two shining stars of the night, Reba McEntire and Dolly Parton. Both of these ladies are beyond beautiful and super-classy. Some of the modern women looked like they belonged on a stripper pole.
  • Modern “country” sounds nothing like country at all. It’s all rock and pop now, with a little twang tossed in there so they can call it country.
  • Oh sweet Jesus. I think 99% of the songs that were sung by the performers were women worship songs or female empowerment songs. Songs about how beautiful your woman is, songs about how awful men are (“If only you were a better man”, SERIOUSLY?).
  • The fact that they had Beyoncé there was ridiculous, and the lead singer of the Dixie Chicks, who I thought were defunct, looked like a Mack truck. The gathering of quasi-gay, transsexual musicians playing instruments on the stage with them just killed the whole night. The shots the showed of the country artists in the crowd leads me to believe that many of them felt the same way.

When Sheryl Crow decided to break into the country market I knew it was the first salvo of an assault on what was already a failing culture, but even then country seemed like it was country, if not a little on the poppy side. Now, nope, epic fail.

If I had my way I would cut my wife off from country music altogether. All the women are rebellious and encourage everything you don’t want to be doing as a wife, while all the male singers worship women with syrupy love songs equating women with Jesus, angels or whatever other holy object they can fit into the lyrics.

I’ll stick to metal, thank you.

Author: SnapperTrx

Just a guy on the internet.

2 thoughts on “Country music is dead.”

  1. Ugh… I didn’t bother with the SMA (Scheiße Music Awards) because I just couldn’t be bothered. I couldn’t actually be bothered by “entertainment” awards shows regardless the genre, actually. Country music is just terrible.

    1. I don’t care to watch it but I spent most of the week out of town and decided to spend a little “snuggle time” with the wife, so she had it on the TV. The look on the country artists faces contained both shame and depression during the whole Beyoncé performance. Old school country, TRUE country artists are spinning in their graves.

Leave a Reply

