Stormy weather

Saturday I finished cutting my MDF template for the Curtana and was quite happy. Now, after cutting the MDF template I typically use it cut a poplar or pine template which holds up much longer than the MDF (every time you pull up the double sided tape from the MDF template part of the template comes up with it until you get large holes). Unfortunately my previous templates have all been of smaller knife weapons, so I haven’t had to find a large piece of half-inch thick poplar and, come to find, they aren’t really available. The largest I could find locally was a piece of 1/2″ x 5″ x 48″ – not at all suitable considering the Curtana is 8″ in width.

That being said I decided to take a trip down to the Woodcraft store in Ventura on Sunday to see if they had what I was looking for, but they did not. However, that didn’t keep me from spending a nice day at the coast with the wife.

I guess there is a rather large storm up North and, though it wasn’t too crazy in Ventura, you could definitely see the effects with increased cloud cover and larger waves than normal at the harbor and Surfers Knoll. Unfortunately all I had was my trusty (and broken) phone, but I was able to get a few nice shots. Enjoy!

 

This was a bit of an odd trip for us. We saw three vultures on the shore (huge birds, btw) hanging around near the carcass of what appeared to be a seal. We also saw what looked like a stork landing in the bird sanctuary (it was very large and had a heavy bill, not like the cranes that are typical). The weather must have also brought a lot of fish near the shore, as we saw a large group of pelicans congregating in one area in the water and splashing around like a bunch of drunk teenagers. It was fun and relaxing, but it got cold quick and I had forgotten my jacket, so we didn’t stick around too late. I am hoping to snag a hotel room the next time a larger storm comes in and stay overnight and enjoy it.

Last but not least, here’s a couple of minutes of enjoyable waves.

Author: SnapperTrx

Just a guy on the internet.

4 thoughts on “Stormy weather”

    1. It’s amazing how fast the sunset actually happens when the sun reaches the horizon. My wife and I actually stood and watched it go down, and it takes mere minutes. Very cool to see and a neat reminder that we are spinning at, what, 130,000 mph?

      1. I think it’s closer to 1000 mph; but regardless of the actual speed, it’s fascinating to watch the sun/moon rise/set and to see how quickly it/they move.

Leave a Reply

