All work and no sale…

Makes SnapperTrx a very frustrated fellow.

The problem with making wooden swords and stuff is that if you are not selling anything or crowd funded you are basically burning money. Yeah its fun to make stuff and even more fun to swing your creations around in massive, sweeping arcs of wooden death (really, it is!), but eventually it all has to come to an end if you cannot afford the endless need for wood. And not cheap wood either. I mean, I’m not buying oak or walnut, but even poplar gets expensive if you buy it big enough. Pine is too unreliable to make anything nice as it’s typically full of knots and very easily warped.

Personally I haven’t tried the crowd funding route yet and I’m not sure if I want to. The one thing I don’t want to do is become bound to NEED to make anything. The original idea was to make some stuff and sell it as I made it, but to avoid requests as much as possible. I don’t like to be on a timeline because working with wood is something that comes and goes with me. I may go a month or two with absolutely zero interest, then suddenly get the urge to crank out something. I may try a Patreon or GoFundMe if I really get worked up, but with the heat in SoCal right now I don’t like being outdoors for very long. At least not when my attention needs to be able to focus on machines that could sever digits.

Today is kind of a slow news day, in case you couldn’t tell.

Author: SnapperTrx

Just a guy on the internet.

Leave a Reply

