Behold the Black Knight

If you are familiar with any of the ‘manosphere’ then you may be familiar with the terms ‘white knight’ and ‘black knighting’.

I think everyone is familiar with the white knight meme, and probably knows more than a few. White knights love to charge in wherever men may be challenging women, actually holding them to a standard or calling them out on something and proceed to verbally assault them because – well, because poor, soft, independent, strong women. Spewing the word ‘sir’ way too much, they hold onto an overdeveloped and one sided sense of chivalry. Rather than it being the two way street it was intended to be (womanly virtue for manly protection) it has become a system where women are allowed to do whatever they please while men stand, shield in hand, ready to prevent them from suffering the consequences of their actions.

Black knighting is a difficult term to define. Try looking it up on Urban Dictionary and you won’t see a proper definition. White knights define it as simply “being an ass to make yourself appear to be an alpha male”, but that’s not what it is. You really have to see it to understand it. I define it as a “I don’t conform to your silly rules so I will do whatever I can to point them out and ridicule them” kind of attitude. It’s not something someone does to “act alpha”, its what an alpha does because he sees the inherent stupidity of stupid things. This article is a prime example of one of the many facets of black knighting. Some other examples include merely telling a woman her crap stinks and, very publically, calling her out on something and exposing her hypocrisy or foolishness.

I don’t know how effective a technique this is to use against people because, really, the one black knighting is the only one “in on the joke”, but I think that’s the point.

Onto the main point of my post.

Earlier this week I had a talk with my daughter about some of the things her mother and grandmother post to Facebook. Here are a few examples:

Typically these wouldn’t be an issue, despite the fact that the majority of them are just dumb, fluff memes. Where I take issue is that both my wife and MIL proudly wear the badge of a Christian, being, one who follows Christ. These memes, though they satisfy a woman’s desire for validation and create an emotional high, are not even close to being something biblical. Why then, are Christian women posting these all over the place? You see, its not just my wife and MIL, there are hundreds of Christian women that post these things every day. To me that is a problem. Why?

Titus 2:

the older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things— that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be blasphemed.

Here we see that God calls for older women to teach younger women some specific things, none of which include goofy, emotional memes like the ones above. In fact, these memes have the complete opposite effect of scripture in that we, as Christians, are called to bring our pains and sufferings to Christ, not to Facebook.

Lately I have started pondering doing some of my own ‘black knighting’ on some of these posts, as I feel that someone, ANYONE should be calling these women out on their bad judgements and possible disobedience to the word of God. These ladies should be setting good examples for younger women, but this is no good example. When I spoke to my daughter she, fortunately, said that she noticed some of these posts, but she doesn’t pay attention to them because she doesn’t believe in “getting dating advice from Facebook”. I had to redirect her a little bit to help her understand that it wasn’t just “dating advice” I was concerned about her picking up on, but rather spiritual advice. We should seek solace in the words of God, not silly memes. It was a difficult conversation, as it directly involved me pointing out the posts by her mom and grandma.

I spent a little time crafting some response images to post when I see these things pop up, though I remiss to use them. Again, the issue I see with black knighting is that the one doing it is, really, the only one in on the joke. Most people would be clueless and just see him as “being an ass” and write the response off as just some guy being a jerk. That doesn’t mean, however, that the action doesn’t have SOME effect, in that it could, possibly, cause people to think about what they are agreeing with, and could be a startk eye opener for the target of said knighting. Some images:

These are just a few of the different response images I whipped up one day when I was bored and fed up with seeing silly things posted on Facebook. I don’t really know if I will use them (though I have used a couple in the past – mostly the Facebook addiction one), but I sure feel the need to. I just have the feeling that it will do little to no good. I don’t know, but I do know I am getting tired of Facebook fast and, if I didn’t have a store set up there already, I would likely just leave. In fact, my store hasn’t sold a single thing yet, so I may yet decide to pack up and leave. What do you think?

Author: SnapperTrx

Just a guy on the internet.

10 thoughts on “Behold the Black Knight”

    1. Thanks. I have had that one in mind for some time because it seems to be the reality of some Christian women. They really would, literally, give up everything to go serve in a third world country for a year and be so happy they were able to do it, but serving their husbands is beneath them.

      I posted the ‘ungrateful teenager’ one and actually got a decent response from a few of the ladies in my family. I thought that was interesting, but some of the older ladies really are the kind of strong, Christian woman spoken of in the bible. It made me glad to see it, but curious as to why they don’t call out the younger ladies in the family that post those dumb memes.

      1. It’s possibly as you mentioned above – that they just see it as dumb fluff, completely lacking substance. But they don’t recognize the damage caused by spreading those kind of memes.

      2. No, they don’t see it and there is no one to point it out to them and hold them accountable for it. I myself have told my wife to stop posting garbage like that and she has yet to listen. If I continue to see it I may have to take the step of adding Facebook to our routers “banned addresses” page, and tell her why I did it. It wont be pretty, but it would be much worse for her if she causes someone to stumble. Of course, she will never see it that way, and neither would the majority of modern Christian wives (or husbands for that matter. Hell, I might end up in jail for abuse for it. A great possibility nowadays.)

      3. Though I appreciate the sentiment (and don’t take this as offensive), let me assure you that I seek no ones envy. I’m at a point in my life where I seek the truth and that’s it. My goal is to be able to stand before God and hear Him say “well done, good and faithful servant”, no matter how difficult it is to carry out the things that please Him. I have much work to do, and the issues I bring up on this blog are simply one of many I have to deal with, within myself.

        Though I post a lot of stuff like this I have no ill intent. I seek only to point out the issues I see that plague both men and women. Women don’t like to be under authority and men don’t like having authority, at least within the context of marriage. But husbands cannot just lay down the mantle of authority or hand it back to God and say “I don’t want this anymore”, it doesn’t work that way. I will bring up, again, the parable of the talents. The man who failed not only buried his responsibility, but his authority as well. He used his authority over his masters money to give up his authority! And what did his master tell him? “You wicked, lazy servant!” and “…throw that worthless servant outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.”. I don’t know about you, but being thrown outside of my masters home equates, in my mind, to hell, and that is where I DONT want to be. The churches don’t preach on this though. They concentrate on the responsibility of the servant, but not his abdication of his responsibility! Would it make a difference if men were told that their “servant leadership” (a term I hate) included administering discipline to their wives? I don’t know, but I don’t think so. See the post I just made entitled “Modern Christians cant handle the truth of the bible” and you will see why I think this. It would shatter their reality. It would break everything they have been taught since they were little boys: girls are so much better than you, so much holier, so much closer to God and if they are messing up in life it’s typically because there is a man leading them down the wrong path. My own aunt just told me that earlier this evening! It would NEVER cross the mind of a modern Christian man or woman that maybe, just maybe, the woman is just rebellious. Is that the case every time? No, absolutely not, but the modern Christian will never consider it to even be in the realm of possibility. Until this illusion is dispelled and men pick up the mantle of authority we will be stuck in this boat. And, unfortunately we are so far down the road already that the way back would require A LOT of effort and sacrifice on the part of men. Men will lose their wives, their families, their homes and their livelihoods as “Christian” women are put in their proper place and, using the power of the state AND THE CHURCH, they destroy the very men who supported and loved them. They will do it without batting an eye. They will do it, then thank God for giving them strength through their “season of suffering”.

  1. Oh, I didn’t mean that you were seeking envy! Just that I think many women often think that husbands have it easy because they “get to be the boss”. Whereas, I think husbands actually have it harder than wives (in some ways) because they have to be the boss. Which is what it sounds like you’re saying as well.

    ” It would break everything they have been taught since they were little boys: girls are so much better than you, so much holier, so much closer to God and if they are messing up in life it’s typically because there is a man leading them down the wrong path. “
    Yes, and I think I believed this about myself for a long time too. Actually, it reminds me of when my husband and I were dating, and we were having struggles with staying pure. My husband was talking to our pastor, and detailing the kinds of struggles we were having, including that often it was me pushing for boundaries to be crossed, which confused him somewhat. And our pastor said to him, “Maybe you need to accept that she’s not the angel you thought she was.”
    And he wasn’t saying it maliciously, merely pointing out that I was a sinner, just like my husband.

Leave a Reply

