Blinded

I had a conversation with my aunt yesterday. I love her very much, as she is kind of the black sheep of the family. She has been through some bible schooling as well as psychology classes, which isn’t really my thing, but I love her and enjoy my time with her. Back when I was younger I used to stay at her house with my uncle and her many, many children, and we had a great time.

She informed me that one of her daughters (one of my cousins) is having a rough time in her marriage and she didn’t think they were going to make it which greatly saddened me, but I cant say I was surprised. I have both my cousin and her husband on my Facebook feed and they are often posting things about getting drunk and acting dumb, punctuated by foul language and such. I attended their wedding and they seemed like a fun couple, but he is not a Christian and she isn’t much of one, I gather. I know her mom, at least, has tried to teach her children about Christ, but it hasn’t been reinforced by their father. My uncle is an odd duck, one of my favorite people in the world really, but I don’t believe he is saved. When I was younger he got me into gaming (he was the first person I knew to buy an NES and his house is where I got my first taste of Super Mario Bros., Dragon Warrior and Metroid) and we used to have a riot any time I got together with him, but he has since left my aunt and the kids, ended up back in their lives and I don’t even really know what’s going on now. Its a crazy situation.

Continuing on, I was really disappointed yesterday when, during the conversation of her daughters possible divorce I brought up 1 Peter 3:1-6 which says:

Wives, likewise, be submissive to your own husbands, that even if some do not obey the word, they, without a word, may be won by the conduct of their wives, when they observe your chaste conduct accompanied by fear. Do not let your adornment be merely outward—arranging the hair, wearing gold, or putting on fine apparel— rather let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in the sight of God. For in this manner, in former times, the holy women who trusted in God also adorned themselves, being submissive to their own husbands, as Sarah obeyed Abraham, calling him lord, whose daughters you are if you do good and are not afraid with any terror

Naturally this devolved into an argument about the many reasons why a woman SHOULDN’T obey her husband, despite the fact that the bible states, in very clear language, that wives should be obedient EVEN IF THEIR HUSBANDS DO NOT OBEY THE WORD. Now, one would assume that if the husband is not obeying the Word he is not a believer, therefore he is likely not trying to make Godly decisions or seeking guidance in prayer, etc., and the bible is very clear on a Christian womans role in this type of relationship:

“…be submissive to your own husbands, that even if some do not obey the word, they, without a word, may be won by the conduct of their wives, when they observe your chaste conduct accompanied by fear.

There it is, folks, black and white, no room for argument IF, and this is a big IF, IF you read the bible and take it at face value.

This, however, is where the problems arise. My aunt has been to “bible schooling” as well as psychology and what not, and it is in her mind (likely put there by bible scholars and psychologists) that the bible cannot be taken as black and white because the world contains so many shades of gray.

For example, the above scripture, to me, is very plain and clear, but I read it with no filter, I just see the words and believe “this is what they say, this is what they mean”. My aunt, much to my dismay, has to run these words through the filter of “well God wouldn’t want a woman to suffer x, y and z”, or “it was a different culture back then and we have to account for that”. This, unfortunately, completely changes the meaning of the words into whatever you want them to be. Because, in her mind, she must filter these words through her built in feminist training (she is not a feminist, but as I have said in the past, ALL modern women have a feminist filter they have been raised with just by virtue of being in a society that ’empowers’ women) there is no way, NO WAY, that a loving God would want a woman to suffer mistreatment from her husband if he is being cruel. Or, despite God being unchanging and being of the same mind in past, present and future, that those words could apply in todays modern, educated and enlightened culture.

Really? Lets look at the preceding scripture, 1 Peter 2:18-25

18 Servants, be submissive to your masters with all fear, not only to the good and gentle, but also to the harsh. 19 For this is commendable, if because of conscience toward God one endures grief, suffering wrongfully. 20 For what credit is it if, when you are beaten for your faults, you take it patiently? But when you do good and suffer, if you take it patiently, this is commendable before God. 21 For to this you were called, because Christ also suffered for us, leaving us an example, that you should follow His steps:

22 “Who committed no sin, Nor was deceit found in His mouth”;

23 who, when He was reviled, did not revile in return; when He suffered, He did not threaten, but committed Himself to Him who judges righteously; 24 who Himself bore our sins in His own body on the tree, that we, having died to sins, might live for righteousness—by whose stripes you were healed. 25 For you were like sheep going astray, but have now returned to the Shepherd and Overseer of your souls.

What we have here is God, through Paul, telling servants (or, slaves, if you will) that they should be submissive to their masters even if their masters are unnecessarily harsh. Why? Well because it is commendable to God when we suffer in obedience wrongfully. Yes, despite our suffering, when we remain obedient to the Word of God it is commendable before God! It counts for something! How do we know that? Because it says right there in the same scripture, hey, if your being beaten because you did something wrong then what does that credit you? You are suffering the consequences of your actions! Buuuuut, if you suffer even after doing good, don’t be disheartened, because God knows you are suffering despite doing no wrong, and he will commend you for, even still, being obedient to your master, and obedient to God.

It even goes on to use Jesus as the example of one who was SINLESS, having been harshly treated in the worst possible way, yet he remained obedient to God all the way to the cross unto death! That’s the example! A sinless man suffering needlessly until he was killed in one of the most horrible and painful ways possible because he was being obedient to his master, his father!

Now, I want to make this very clear, because some people don’t get it right away and I have to explain it to them a few times while they are throwing a hissy fit and not listening, so please pay attention:

THIS SECTION OF SCRIPTURE DOES NOT, DOES NOT, DOES NOT, INDICATE THAT IT IS PERMISSABLE FOR A HUSBAND TO BEAT HIS WIFE.

THIS SECTION OF SCRIPTURE DOES NOT, DOES NOT, DOES NOT, INDICATE THAT IT IS PERMISSABLE FOR A HUSBAND TO BEAT HIS WIFE.

THIS SECTION OF SCRIPTURE DOES NOT, DOES NOT, DOES NOT, INDICATE THAT IT IS PERMISSABLE FOR A HUSBAND TO BEAT HIS WIFE.

I have to mention this because the very next verse, after v.25 is the first verse of the next chapter, chapter 3:

Wives, likewise, be submissive to your own husbands, that even if some do not obey the word, they, without a word, may be won by the conduct of their wives, when they observe your chaste conduct accompanied by fear.

Now, I have placed the key word in bold faced text: “likewise”. What does likewise mean? Well lets go to the old interwebs and look:

likewise (adverb): in the same way; also; in a like manner; similarly

Now, just to make things clear: the preceding scripture, the part about masters and servants, is used as an example of someone suffering harsh treatment, NOT a permission for masters to beat their slaves or for husbands to beat their wives. IT IS AN EXAMPLE OF SOMEONE SUFFERING UNWARRENTED HARSH TREATMENT.

So, Paul is saying: Hey, if your a servant and your master treats you harshly by beating you for no reason, but you remain obedient to God by being obedient to your master, don’t be dismayed, because God sees what’s going on. It hasn’t escaped His eye and you will some day be commended for your obedience to both God and your master, so take heart in that. IN THE SAME WAY, you wives out there, if your husband is treating you harshly, use the same example as above. Why? Because your harsh treatment doesn’t go unnoticed by God, and some day you will be commended for being obedient to both God and your husband. Also, your obedience is your witness to your unsaved husband! Yeah, you are actually WITNESSING to him by doing what God says and remaining obedient even when he is a jerk or doing something stupid! Keep it up and you may find yourself with a husband who is willing to give his life to Christ because your quiet and obedient action HAS AN EFFECT ON HIM!

Unfortunately, however, the suffering part of the bible has been glossed over by the modern church, and most people will think that ‘suffering’ means they have to settle for the new BLUE car when they really wanted the new RED car. Or that they wont be able to go on vacation to Tahiti this year because they are suffering financially, so they can only go to Cancun. These people will have no idea what to do when REAL suffering hits the United States and Christians are being drug through the street to be murdered and tortured, much like they are in other countries where being a Christian will easily get you killed.

Incidents like this are why I have made the decision this past year or so, that I don’t want to read someone else’s interpretation of the bible. I don’t want to go to classes and bible studies that use books ABOUT the bible. I want to read THE bible – straight, no chaser! Why go to a book written by the apprentice when the masters manual is right there in front of you?

A lot of the blogs I read now seem to have similar thinking. They just read the word and believe what it says. No fancy translations or interpretations. Just the Word. I think that, unless the American church returns to this straight, pure understanding of the bible, we are hosed. Everyone right now has a different view, a different angle, a different ‘interpretation’ of scripture. The easiest way to get everyone on the same page is just to read what it says and believe. Black and white. Word for word.

This method, however, isn’t very popular and, as of yesterday, I have resigned myself to the fact that I will likely die an old and lonely man. Given the reactions I have seen out of my own father, my aunt, men at the church and my own wife, I’m certain I won’t have anyone left by the time the Lord calls me home. I’m too harsh, they say. I’m too fringe. What a sad statement that is. I read the words and believe them, and that’s too fringe! Should the sword of the Word be dulled so that it does not cleave? I would hope not!

Jesus said:

Matthew 10:

34 “Do not think that I came to bring peace on earth. I did not come to bring peace but a sword. 35 For I have come to ‘set a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law’;

If I have to lose everyone to keep Christ then what have I really lost? I love my family, but I am to love Christ more, and I am called to obedience.

Some people like to say that Christians are wimps because being a Christian is easy. Yeah, right. If it’s so easy, lets see you do it.

Author: SnapperTrx

Just a guy on the internet.

Leave a Reply

