Bucket gardens and tiny toads….

So my bucket garden that I first showed in my post ‘Pictures from home‘ is turning out very well. For those of you wondering, all I did was take some 5 gallon buckets from the Home Depot, drill some holes in the bottom for drainage, put down a couple inch layer of rocks then filled them up with this Miracle Grow garden soil. I used these little Miracle Grow seed pods, which cost me about a buck each (it says not to cover them all the way up, but I put some soil over the top so watering them wouldn’t cause the seeds to float out). Then, water daily and – BAM! Veggies! The four buckets you see are yellow cherry tomatoes, jalapenos, zucchini and squash. This afternoon when I was home for lunch I planted some eggplant and broccoli as well. See below:

Also, because we live next to a water sump my backyard has been infested with dozens of tiny toads. They are cute, but annoying because you need to watch your step to avoid crushing them. I’m sure they will help alleviate the bug problem, if they can stay alive. Now I’m worried about mowing the yard. One or two toadies aren’t a problem, but a little group of ten or twelve would make quite a mess…

Author: SnapperTrx

Just a guy on the internet.

1 thought on “Bucket gardens and tiny toads….”

  1. “Now I’m worried about mowing the yard. One or two toadies aren’t a problem, but a little group of ten or twelve would make quite a mess…”

    at least you don’t have little children who would cry over the dead toadies 😉

    my youngest would get terribly upset over dead animals. we have tons of bunnies and squirrels that get smushed by cars. i used to have to call animal patrol to scoop them up quickly when close to our house before she’d see them. thankfully, she outgrew that 🙂

Leave a Reply

