This is why we cant have nice things….

Take a look at this Facebook post that popped up on a friends feed. Read it carefully!


This is one of the best posts I’ve read about women. Please read!

WOMAN. . . . . . . . .

When God created woman he was working late on the 6th day…….

An angel came by and asked.” Why spend so much time on her?”

The lord answered. “Have you seen all the specifications I have to meet to shape her?”

She must function on all kinds of situations,
She must be able to embrace several kids at the same time,
Have a hug that can heal anything from a bruised knee to a broken heart,
She must do all this with only two hands,”She cures herself when sick and can work 18 hours a day”

THE ANGEL was impressed “Just two hands…..impossible!

And this is the standard model?”

The Angel came closer and touched the woman
“But you have made her so soft, Lord”.
“She is soft”, said the Lord,
“But I have made her strong. You can’t imagine what she can endure and overcome.”

“Can she think?” The Angel asked…
The Lord answered. “Not only can she think, she can reason and negotiate.”

The Angel touched her cheeks….
“Lord, it seems this creation is leaking! You have put too many burdens on her”
“She is not leaking…it is a tear” The Lord corrected the Angel…

“What’s it for?” Asked the Angel….. .
The Lord said. “Tears are her way of expressing her grief, her doubts, her love, her loneliness, her suffering and her pride.”…

This made a big impression on the Angel,
“Lord, you are a genius. You thought of everything.
A woman is indeed marvellous”

Lord said.”Indeed she is.
She has strength that amazes a man.
She can handle trouble and carry heavy burdens.

She holds happiness, love and opinions.

She smiles when she feels like screaming.

She sings when she feels like crying, cries when happy and laughs when afraid.

She fights for what she believes in.

Her love is unconditional.

Her heart is broken when a next-of-kin or a friend dies but she finds strength to get on with life”

The Angel asked: “So she is a perfect being?”

The lord replied: “No. She has just one drawback
She often forgets what she is worth.”


Are you done? Good.

This post is about as close to heretical and blasphemous as I could possibly imagine! First off we have a completely unbiblical account of the creation of woman. The bible VERY clear on WHEN and HOW woman was created, and it is nothing at all like what is in this silly tale!

Secondly we have the absolute GLORIFICATION of women! The author of this post cant even get THAT right:

“She has strength that amazes a man.”
No, she has attitude that confounds a man.

“She can handle trouble and carry heavy burdens.”
She panics when the smallest thing goes wrong.

“She holds happiness, love and opinions”
She is rarely happy and holds her opinion to be fact.

“She smiles when she feels like screaming”
She will often scream like a child when things don’t go her way

“She sings when she feels like crying, cries when happy and laughs when afraid.”
She cries for no reason, laughs for no reason and generally acts like a lunatic.

“She fights for what she believes in.”
She fights to ensure she gets her way, and follows the crowd in almost everything.

“Her love is unconditional.”
Her love is unconditional for HER CHILDREN. For her husband, however, her love comes with a tangled mess of strings and expectations.

“Her heart is broken when a next-of-kin or a friend dies but she finds strength to get on with life”
Her heart ‘breaks’ when things don’t go as she planned or she doesn’t get her way.

 

“So she is a perfect being?”
ARE YOU KIDDING ME? IS THIS EVEN SERIOUS?

Romans 3:23
“For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God;”

“No. She has just one drawback, She often forgets what she is worth.”

Well stop the presses! Apparently God royally messed up by sending his one and only son to die on the cross when all he had to do was make sure the women HAD MORE SELF-ESTEEM!

Some of the responses to the post were ridiculous:

“I couldn’t agree more. More self worth is needed.”

What a beautiful post. Resonated with me as I’m sure many of we. We often forget what we are worth.”

Luke 9:23
“Then He said to them all, “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow Me.”

I read recently on the blog BiblicalGenderRoles a post on “How to Help Women Learn Their Place”. Its a good post, full of biblically sound recommendations on how a Christian woman can be pleasing to both God and her husband, but how, HOW on earth are we to expect young Christian women to learn those things that are written in scripture if GROWN, ADULT Christian women are learning this tripe instead?

Titus 2:3-5
“the older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things— that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God  may not be blasphemed.

If the older women are fools, what hope do the younger women have?

And last but not least:

Revelation 22:18
“For I testify to everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: If anyone adds to these things, God will add to him the plagues that are written in this book;”

It appears Christian women are fooling around with some very dangerous things. I myself was tempted to post in response, but responding to this type of thing in the setting of Facebook will do absolutely nothing. The American church is failing…..

Author: SnapperTrx

Just a guy on the internet.

6 thoughts on “This is why we cant have nice things….”

  1. probably not the reaction you were going for, but my husband and i laughed as we read this … for the truth in some of it. imho, i think you swung the pendulum a bit too far in the other direction … over generalization either way is still over-generalization. NOT that there aren’t women all over the curve on this; there are.

    “She has strength that amazes a man.”
    No, she has attitude that confounds a man.

    this one truly made my husband and me laugh! sometimes i have strength, sometimes i have attitude, sometimes i’m really great at being submissive, sometimes i totally fail. my husband is not quick to point out my weaknesses, but he doesn’t shy away from doing so, either. but when he does address stuff, he never makes me fear him. he doesn’t make me ‘pay’ for my mistakes. rather, he does make me respect him.

    “She can handle trouble and carry heavy burdens.”
    She panics when the smallest thing goes wrong.

    we laughed here, too … there are things i handle very well, some i handle okay, some better than others, but those i don’t, i totally crumble … and there are some that will send me into a total panic attack. the latter are usually when my kids get really sick (some of that’s just me; some of it is b/c of some serious health issues each has had in their short histories).

    “She holds happiness, love and opinions”
    She is rarely happy and holds her opinion to be fact.

    i do not believe the former is true for every woman. i believe i am a generally happy person, but i’m not always bubbly-happy. sometimes i’m simply quiet, contemplative, thoughtful. sometimes i’m sad – not unhappy so much as sad. but … i will admit, i tend to like my opinions to be fact though am readily willing to acknowledge them as opinion … we laughed at that, too. some women are rarely happy and some hold their opinion to be fact … but not all.

    “She smiles when she feels like screaming”
    She will often scream like a child when things don’t go her way

    i don’t necessarily agree with this across the board. we will smile when we feel like screaming … we will scream when things don’t go our way … but i wouldn’t say either is true all the time, or even the majority of the time, in general. i would say, at least for myself, i have a high tolerance for life and all the incindentals that can happen in any given day. but when i reach my breaking point and don’t work through that, i can blow. i do turn around and acknowledge my failures and ask for forgiveness. probably the frustrating thing about that is that one’s breaking point is often variable. for example, it’s been different during different seasons and stages of parenting … babies, toddlers, preschoolers, school-age, middle school, high school … then add in the different hormonal cycles over the years … add in other outside stuff like when my first husband was doing some really bad stuff … when my parents divorced … etc. learning our breaking point … how to manage stress … how and when to ask for help … takes time and practice … especially when there’s no one to help guide through it.

    “She sings when she feels like crying, cries when happy and laughs when afraid.”
    She cries for no reason, laughs for no reason and generally acts like a lunatic.

    this made us laugh, too … but all of this is true sometimes.

    “She fights for what she believes in.”
    She fights to ensure she gets her way, and follows the crowd in almost everything.

    i think this is where my husband asked if you are a pessimist. yes, i fight for what i believe in, sometimes. yes, i fight to get my own way, sometimes. yes, i follow the crowd, sometimes. but yes, i try to pray first and seek God and not fall into these traps. do i fail? certainly. but i also, by the grace of God, succeed.

    “Her love is unconditional.”
    Her love is unconditional for HER CHILDREN. For her husband, however, her love comes with a tangled mess of strings and expectations.

    well … all of this this is all sorts of wrong. the first time i truly learned i do not know how to love fully and totally unconditionally is when i had my first baby (not that i didn’t know it before, but i though that if i ever could love totally unconditionally, it would be the love i would have for my own children). i learned quickly that God never tires or becomes impatient or irritated with my children … but i would sometimes. i think we come with a tangled mess of strings and expectations for friends, husbands, children, and ourselves. we see everything through the lenses of our own experiences. and … given that i know a few mothers who have abandoned their children, including my own mother who abandoned me, first, and then eventually my other siblings, i wouldn’t say that all mothers have unconditional love for their children. actually, i don’t think any mother has unconditional love for her child(ren).

    “Her heart is broken when a next-of-kin or a friend dies but she finds strength to get on with life”
    Her heart ‘breaks’ when things don’t go as she planned or she doesn’t get her way.

    again … all of this is true, sometimes. but the times my heart has been most broken have been when my children’s hearts were broken by their dad … don’t go all crazy on this b/c i can back it up … and i am not saying all dads are bad, (although mine was, and my daughters’ was). he made some truly bad choices and was abusive, and he did some terrible things to our girls. through much prayer God protected my girls from a lot … but not all. and through much prayer and hard work and therapy, i have worked through most of the abuse from my parents.

    “No. She has just one drawback, She often forgets what she is worth.”

    perhaps would be better stated that she often forgets the truth of who she is AND who she is not. we are not more valuable than another, but we are not less, either. we have a place, but our place does not determine our value. i do not, at all, buy into the ‘self-esteem’ garbage that’s going around. not at all. self-esteem is variable. only God is never-changing. when we find our worth or value in being a female or a wife or a mother or anything except God, we are doomed to failure. i am a forgiven child of Holy God. i am imperfect and in constant need of forgiveness. i am a continuous work-in-progress and will not reach completion until God calls me home to heaven … and even then, i am not God. i am not more or less of a sinful human than anyone else, and i am in as much need of grace and mercy and the blood of Jesus as everyone else.

    yes, we older women need to teach younger women biblical principals; there is a huge breakdown in the church here. we need to know the Truth in order to teach it. and the younger women need to be teachable and willing to learn … or, often they need to be willing to un-learn false truths so they can learn Truth.

  2. Ame,

    Welcome back! It’s a good feeling to know that all the stuff I dump onto this blog space is being read by someone other than myself. I appreciate your quite lengthy comment! I don’t have a whole lot to say about this post, but I will respond to a couple of items:

    1. Actually I am very glad you and your husband got a laugh out of this particular blog entry, as it was written with quite a bit of tongue-in-cheek. It had to be, as the only way I figure the original author of the ‘woman’ post could have written all of that is either with tongue firmly planted or with the straight face of a sociopath. Do you realize that in one fell swoop this person has proclaimed that women are free of sin with the exception of ‘lacking self worth’? Not only that, but they placed the words in the mouth of God!? Really? I know it’s only a story, but still, it is so far out in left field I question whether or not the author is a believer or just someone trying to write for Hallmark!

    2. I am fully aware that my response to the story does not reflect all women. Well, I take that back, not every woman meets every point that I posted, though, as you have pointed out, all meet at least a few. Again, the absurdity of my response is a direct reflection of the absurdity of the original authors fantasy.

    3. You can assure your husband that I am not a pessimist, but I can assure you both that I feel I am headed that direction. This ‘story of woman’ was reposted by christian women whom I know. Not well, but I know them nonetheless, and have attended the same church as them at one time or another. The fact that this is being reposted, and thus given credence, by christian women is frightenting to me. The gospel of self is nothing new, having been started by the serpent in the garden, but the gospel of ‘self esteem’, which is nothing more than the gospel of self with a shiny paint job, has had a foothold in the world for decades, and it is slowly but surely seeping into the church. The kicker is that no one will stand up to stop it! The majority of christian men don’t want to be the one to tell their wives and daughters that they have TOO MUCH self esteem, when everyone else is telling them they have too little! And even if they did, I don’t personally know of any christian wives that I don’t think would stand right up and fight!

    Over the past week I have seen other blogs that have pointed out and torn apart christian women ‘teachers’ who are teaching a gospel of self! To other christian women! It doesn’t leave me with much hope, I will admit. It’s so bad that I have taken to studying up and researching the very women my wife listens to or whos retreats she attends so I can prevent her from going near any of the worst offenders.

    The future of the American church scares me. Without any real persecution and without any real call to sanctification (everyone says they are being sanctified, but that requires introspection then repentance) we have become wayward, seemingly making new battles to fight because our Christianity isn’t really challenged here in the U.S. We have made up the sins of ‘lack of self esteem’ or, my favorite, ‘subservience’. Sins that are nowhere in the Word of God, and entirely inspired by satan.

    Again, I thank you for your comment, and hope that I have made my side of the issue a little more clear. Understand that I am not a woman-hater, but I am a man who sees a very large weakness in the church, put in place by both weak women AND weak men. Their weaknesses, however, are at opposite ends of the spectrum. Men who wont take the authority given them by God, and women who won’t submit to their husbands if they DID take up the authority. I have had to deal with that sin on my own part already, and I understand that its an easy sin to repent from, but not an easy one to turn around from, as it requires doing things that make us feel uncomfortable. However, the more troubling issue is that I am having to learn this on my own at fourty years of age. Where were the men in the churches I attended in my youth who would guide and teach me what authority is and how I am supposed to handle it? My father did what he could, but he and I are from two different worlds, and often times he had no idea what to do with his book reading, Enya listening, dragon loving son. I don’t place all the blame on him. As a jock and an all around ‘alpha’ type guy, I don’t think anyone had to teach him this stuff. To him it likely came naturally. He already had a grip on authority before he even became a christian. Still, if no men in the church stepped up then, they sure aren’t stepping up now, and that is quite worrisome.

  3. i have a decade on you, and my husband that plus a few more years. it is so hard not to let bitterness seep into our souls and weep out of our hearts through pessimism. it is a silent and patient beast. i have to remind myself there is nothing new under the sun, and there are no surprises to God.

    i have my own history with the church; much of which is not pleasant. i have worked hard not to let the church reflect upon God … in my own heart, and in the hearts of my children. the story is long and probably difficult to express adequately in mere words, however, it has been years since we’ve attended church. my thoughts and feelings on this are still quite complex.

    you are wise to vet those who influence your wife; i hope she sees that as a beautiful thing that you would do for her.

    your last paragraph is packed. there are so many things i wish were different … things i wished i’d learned earlier … things neither my parents nor the church nor others cared to take the time to teach. it’s a struggle. a constant needing to bow to Jesus and recognize my inability and plead for His mercy and grace and wisdom and discernment and discretion. i was 21 when i married my first husband, and i knew i was deficient in most every area, so i sought to learn. i was like a dry sponge, always seeking knowledge and truth. my husband came from a dictatorial home where disobedience was treated harshly, and disagreement with him was not tolerated, and passive-aggressive/manipulative mental and emotional abuse was honed and perfected – and all done in the name of God and backed by scripture ideas taken out of context. i believe we could have made it had he been able to face his demons, but to do so would have been to acknowledge his father was not God, and neither he nor his father could allow that.

    kudos to you for seeing and acknowledging the differences between you and your father … and for not seeing either of you as wrong or weak. it is hard when we are so different from our parents, and, as parents, it is hard when our children are different from us. when we’re born, we’re born into our parents’ team. as we go through adolescence we begin to form our own team. it is a huge shift for both parents and teens.

    my husband is similar to your dad, and his son is similar to you. i’ve gently been go-between often, gently teaching them both how to understand each other in their own personalities. they love each other tons, but they have a hard time understanding each other. they’re at a good place right now though the road gets bumpy sometimes.

    as my therapist would remind me often years ago as i worked through the abuses of my first husband and those of my parents:

    “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.” Philippians 4:8

    and from Ephesians 4 … which became my life’s prayer almost daily, especially during those years: “31 [Lord, enable me to] Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. 32[Lord, enable me to] Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.”

  4. Ha ha! Tech stuff, I guess some of it is tech stuff. Most of it is wood working, but the 3D stuff I guess could be technical. I don’t normally post about the technical side of it, though, I just post the results. Personally I am surprised that you haven’t mentioned anything about my pet girls, though they aren’t real and fit into a larger story. I have visited the blog you recommended in the other post you commented on, and I visit it very so often. Thanks for the heads up!

    Actually, after I posted this reply I realized that I have been posting the ‘technical’ part of the 3D stuff! I should probably invest in some memory strengthening pills!

  5. not even going to touch the topic of your ‘pet girls’ … as they say, ‘not my monkey; not my circus!”

    yeah … ‘tech stuff.’ my kids would roll their eyes at me and go, “Mo-om!” i tend group things under general titles that my mind doesn’t have time to figure out … so, yeah, all that stuff in my brain goes under ‘tech stuff.’

    glad you enjoy Twenty-Sided, Shamus’ site. i don’t go out there often at all – it’s all over my head … usually only when his wife directs me there. and i’d never comment … those guys out there are totally out of my league with that stuff.

Leave a Reply

