Sept 8th and the schools.

   Anyone who knows me knows that the president and I dont exactly see eye-to-eye on many issues.  I personally think that the United States are headed down a dangerous road, and has been for quite some time, even before our current president.  Recently I have heard that on September 8th, the president will be feeding an online speech into classrooms around the U.S., followed by some paperwork and assignments from the teachers.  I have also heard that many people have opted not to send their children to school on the 8th because they don’t want them ‘indoctrinated’.  Initially, I had the same idea.  I mean, no president that I can think of has ever had a live, direct feed into the classroom, and I dont know if I would be comfortable with our last president, or ANY president, doing the same thing.  It’s not that I dont trust the president of the U.S., but many times there are agenda’s and ideas the government holds that I dont think are right and that I dont need my kids to get into, either because they are just too young to understand or it just seems to creepy.
   Despite my issues with the current president, I have decided to send my kids to school on the 8th regardless of whats going on, and I think, depending on your childrens age, you should too.  All of my kids are ten or older, and I have spoken to them many times about the government, politics and the way I see things.  Its not all good, its not all bad, but to date, they pretty much reflect my ideas if you ask them about anything political.  I feel they are old enough, now, to have their ideas challenged in the real world, and for them to be able to defend WHY they feel the way they do, and not just be mirrors of their parents.  Last night at dinner I discussed with them what I expect from them if they attend school on this day and it broke down to:
 
1. Be honest with yourself and others.
2. Be intelligent in your answers.
3. Be prepared to have your ideas challenged, you need to have facts to back up your ideas.
4. Be prepared to possibly have people (both teachers and students) mistreat you because of your ideas.
 
   I cant tell anyone what to do, and heck, I dont expect anyone to take my advice either, but if your children are ten or older, and you have spoken to them about your political views, send them to school and let them be challenged.  As adults, they are going to have to know how to seperate fact from spin, and the government is always spinning.  With the direction the U.S. has been heading over the past few years, I think its going to be one of the most important skills your children can have as they reach adulthood.
Author: SnapperTrx

Just a guy on the internet.

Leave a Reply

